Plain Air: Sketches from Winesburg, Indiana

Plain Air: Sketches from Winesburg, Indiana

Michael Martone


  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews


  • Recipient of Multiple NEA Grants
  • Recipient of Multiple Writing Awards including the World's Best Short, Short Story Contest
  • Extensive Teaching and Publishing Career in Fiction, Non-fiction, and Editing
  • Plain Air is, in many ways, a literary homage to Sherwood Anderson's famous collection of stories Winesburg, Ohio
  • Michael Martone is an enthusiast of the Postal Service, postcards, trains, the number four, Quonset huts, and the Flyover


Michael Martone:

Michael Martone's recent books are The Complete Writings of Art Smith, The Bird Boy of Fort Wayne, Edited by Michael Martone, The Moon Over Wapakoneta; Brooding. His book Michael Martone is a memoir in contributor’s notes. The University of Georgia Press published his book of essays, The Flatness and Other Landscapes, winner of the AWP Award for Nonfiction, in 2000. With Lex Williford, he edited The Scribner Anthology of Contemporary Short Fiction and The Touchstone Anthology of Contemporary Creative Nonfiction.  Martone is the author of eight other books of short fiction. His stories and essays have appeared in Harper's, Esquire, Story, Antaeus, North American Review, Benzene, Epoch, Denver Quarterly, Iowa Review, Third Coast, Shenandoah, Bomb, Story Quarterly, American Short Fiction and other magazines.

     Martone was born and grew up in Fort Wayne, Indiana.  He attended Butler University and graduated from Indiana University.  He holds the MA from The Writing Seminars of The Johns Hopkins University.

     Martone has won two Fellowships from the NEA and a grant from the Ingram Merrill Foundation.  His stories have won awards in the Italian Americana fiction contest, the Florida Review Short Story Contest, the Story magazine Short, Short Story Contest, the Margaret Jones Fiction Prize of Black Ice Magazine, and the first World's Best Short, Short Story Contest.  His stories and essays have appeared and been cited in the Pushcart Prize, The Best American Stories and The Best American Essays anthologies. In 2013 he received the national Indiana Authors Award, and in 2016, the Mark Twain Award for Distinguished Contribution to Midwestern Literature.

     Michael Martone has been a faculty member of the MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College since 1988.  He has taught at Iowa State University, Harvard University, and Syracuse University. In 2021, he retired as a Professor at the University of Alabama where he had been teaching since 1996.