Hopes and Dreams for The Variety Girls

Hopes and Dreams for The Variety Girls

A gripping, heartwarming historical saga from Tracy Baines for 2022

Tracy Baines

$4.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

As war is declared can The Variety Girls keep smiling through…

Cleethorpes – September 1939
Struggling to keep their spirits up as the reality of war hits home and theatres are closed, friends Jessie Delaney and Frances O’Leary search for work to see them through until they can sing and dance again.
Frances, once upon a time followed her dreams of becoming a dancer but soon found herself with a broken heart and a precious secret when her lover abandoned her. Keeping her secret from her friends grows more difficult as time passes and their friendship grows..
But with her lover returning to England from a successful tour of America, how long will it be before the truth comes to light?
Secrets aren’t good for anyone and Frances isn’t the only one hiding things from her friends. Ginny Thomspon, another Variety Girl is hoping for the best. But is hope enough?
Can the Variety Girls pull together to help each other through the tough times or will their secrets tear them apart?
A gritty and heart-warming saga perfect for readers of Elaine Everest, Nancy Revell and Pam Howes.Please note this book was previously published as Christmas with the Variety Girls.Praise for Tracy Baines:

‘A charming, heart-warming saga about ambition, hard work and courage in the cut and thrust of a world often driven by jealousy and spite’. Rosie Clarke

‘Immerse yourself in the exciting, evocative world of Wartime musical theatre. I highly recommend this book.’ Fenella Miller

‘An emotional, entertaining read that had me gripped!’ Sheila Riley
'An absorbing and poignant saga. I loved it from the very beginning and would highly recommend it...' Elaine Roberts

'Terrific - beautifully written. The book twinkles. A well-crafted and satisfying story' Maisie Thomas

‘A pleasure from start to finish.’ Glenda Young

‘…you will have to read this well-researched song and dance of a novel in great gulps as I did’ Annie Clark

‘I just loved this book! Molly Walton

The Variety Girls is terrific - beautifully written & with an unusual background. The stage costumes twinkle with sequins and the book twinkles with tiny details of theatre life that add depth and atmosphere to this well-crafted and satisfying story. Maisie Thomas, The Railway Girls

‘A pleasure from start to finish.’ Glenda Young, Belle of the Backstreets

‘…you will have to read this well-researched song and dance of a novel in great gulps as I did’ Margaret Graham/Annie Clark/Milly Adams

‘an evocative, busy, entertaining read, which has well balanced touches of humour, vying with angst, and of course, more than a dollop of tension.’ Margaret Graham, Frost Magazine

‘I just loved this book! The characters were so well-drawn, they felt like old friends to me. Their relationships were beautifully written, heartwarming and authentic. A fascinating insight into the theatre life of the time and all its wonderful personalities. The setting of Cleethorpes was delightful and shone a light on this town that deserves more recognition. Tracy Baines is a very welcome addition to the saga genre, which she has enriched with this lovely story.’ Molly Walton author of A Mother’s War

‘Characterisation is one of the book’s strong points – the individual characters stay in your mind long after you finish the story.’ Barbara Dynes, The Voice


Author

Tracy Baines:
Tracy Baines is the bestselling saga writer of The Variety Girls series, originally published by Ebury, which Boldwood will continue with. She was born and brought up in Cleethorpes and spent her early years in the theatre world which inspired her writing. The first title of her new saga series for Boldwood - set amongst the fisherfolk of Grimsby - will be published in October 2022.

Info

Reviews