Eight Cousins

Eight Cousins

or, The Aunt-hill

Louisa May Alcott


  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews


After being recently orphaned Rose must live with her aunts, the matriarchs of her wealthy Boston family. When Rose's guardian, Uncle Alec, returns from abroad, he takes over her care. She becomes happier and healthier while finding her place in her family of seven boy cousins and numerous aunts and uncles. Each chapter describes an adventure in Rose's life as she learns to help herself and others make good choices. Rose must define for herself her role as the only woman of her generation in her family and as an heiress in Boston's elite society. This version contains the delightful illustrations from the original text.